The unique and fascinating story of an ancient religious military Order, from its origins caring for sick pilgrims in eleventh century Jerusalem, through to its modern-day role with St John Ambulance, the international first aid charity.
The symbol of the Order, a white eight-pointed cross on a black background, is an international symbol of first aid. It is known as the logo of St John Ambulance, emblazoned on the sides of ambulances and on the uniforms of its highly trained volunteers. However, the eight-pointed cross was also worn on the robes of those first Brother Knights in the hospital in Jerusalem, and it has remained unaltered through the centuries, as an enduring emblem of humanitarian care, and of a charity that dates back almost 1000 years.
The Museum offers two paid-for tours that provide exclusive access to hidden rooms within the 16th century gatehouse and Priory Church. Both tours are £12 per person, with ArtFund tickets being £9. To see within the Priory Church and its 12th century Crypt please book tickets for the Lost Priory of the Medieval Order of St John tour. To access the restricted rooms of the gatehouse (including the Council Chamber and Old Chancery Room) please book tickets for the St John Ambulance: A Victorian Masterpiece tour. Large groups, and individuals requiring step-free access are asked to book in advance. To do so, or to enquire for further details, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org OR phone us at 02073244005.
Library available by appointment only.